My Desire To Be A Godly Woman

bibleIt has always been a struggle for me to learn what it really means to be a godly woman. I still struggle today. I wasn’t raised in a godly home. Growing up we lived with my grandmother because my mom and dad divorced when I was 5. The home was unkept, we were mostly lazy, neither my mom or grandmother cooked much, and my alcoholic “grandfather” lived in the home even though he and my grandmother weren’t married. My mom dutifully took my brother and I to our Catholic church each Sunday, but I never got much out of it.  I feel this way of living was etched into my life and hard to overturn.

When I became a Christian I didn’t have anyone to take me by the hand and help me learn and grow as a Christian. I’ve only had one lovely women in my life who reached out and taught me some of what it means to be a godly woman, she is with the Lord now. Most everything I’ve learned about being a godly woman, wife and mom hasn’t been from human example like in Titus 2, but from my own research and Bible study. Right or wrong, everything I’ve learned about keeping a home I’ve pretty much taught myself. It’s been a hard road to break the bad habits I’ve been raised with and to re-learn a better way. I’m still working on it. It’s a daily process. I continue to pray for the Lord to send a wonderful godly Titus 2 woman into my life, but in the mean time I am blessed with lovely Christian women online, studying the Bible and listening to the Lord…He is the ultimate teacher after all!

This weighs on my heart and I so desire to be the godly woman I didn’t have in my life to other young Christian women who are going through what I went through. It’s heartbreaking that there aren’t more Christian women in today’s churches who are living out Titus 2, but also more younger women who are willing to receive such a mentor. I hope that you will pray about reaching out and touching the lives of younger (spiritual or physical age) Christian women, and that you will pray about allowing older (spiritual or physical age) Christian women to reach out and mentor you. It’s not a mere suggestion for a few select people, but a responsibility for all Christians…and we need it now more than ever.

Titus 2:1-5: But as for you, speak the things which are proper for sound doctrine: that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience; the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things–that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

Leave a Reply

