Finally! Chickens!

Now that we can raise chickens where we are we went and got some chicks.  Six tiny fluffs of down.

chick1We are using a large plastic tote for a brooer and it is sitting in our living room.  I am really enjoying the gentle little peeps of the chicks and I could sit and watch them all day.

The store where we got the chicks had a limit of six.  Our plan was to get six meat birds and three layers.  When we arrived, though, they were all out of the meat birds.  What to do?  Come home with six layers.  So I picked a variety based on the ones I though would dchick2o well here.  I got two Buff Orpingtons, two Rhode Island Reds, one Isa Brown and one White Leghorn.  The Isa Browns are really popular around here but they didn’t have many and the few left had pasty butt.  I did find one that seemed ok, but the day after we got her home she did develop pasty butt so I’m working to take care of that.  The rest are doing very well.  No names yet except one of the Rhode Island Reds is bit of a squauker.  When you pick her upchicks3 she calms right down.  We started calling her Diva.  Ha!

My biggest concern right now is our dog, Pepper.  She is very curious of the chicks and very concerned when she hears them showing their disapproval about something.  I want her to be good with the birds, but because she is a big dog and they are about the size of her nose, we’ll have to wait to socialize them.    Until the, she’ll have to keep her distance.

I have the plans for the chicken coop and run, but that will have to be second to our rebuilding of our shed.  Right now we are working on turning a closet in our spare bedroom into a pantry.  So many projects, so little time, only so much money to go around.

I could sit and watch the chicks all day, but I’ve got a lot to do to catch up from the weekend.  So I’m off to check on them and get my laundry re-booted, then tackle my todo list.  Have a great Monday!  Grace and peace!

Leave a Reply

