Father to the Fatherless

Psalm 68:5 – A father of the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in His holy habitation.

Psalm 27:10 – When my father and my mother forsake me, then the Lord will take care of me.

Psalm 146:9 – The Lord watches over the strangers; He relieves the fatherless and widow; but the way of the wicked He turns upside down.

Job 29:12 – Because I delivered the poor who cried out, the fatherless and the one who had no helper.

Romans 8:15-17 – For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him,that we may also be glorified together.

67dadI recently found out that my father passed away. My heart is broken, not because of who he was (I didn’t have the privilege of having him in my life,) but it is broken because for all the times I tried, I didn’t get to know him. My parents divorced when I was in kindergarten.  As I was growing up he only lived several blocks away, but I never saw him.  He would visit people a few houses down the street from us, but never took the time to stop by even to say hi…even if my brother and I were outside when he drove by.  Even so, I asked him to take part in my wedding, and at least for one day I had him in my life and it was a good day. He never met his only biological grandchild. All my life I wanted a relationship with my father and I purposely made sure that I was easy to locate.  Instead I felt I was never good enough to be a part of his life.  Losing him was a final rejection and a deeper hurt than anything I have ever felt and I am so, so grateful to have a heavenly Father who will never abandon me.

RIP Daddy. I hope your life was wonderful and full of love. You always have been and always will be missed by me.

Leave a Reply

