Recipe: Pumpkin Seeds

pumpkinseedsWe don’t carve up pumpkins faces for Halloween but we do enjoy pumpkin recipes like pumpkin pie in the fall and at holidays. I bought pumpkins that I will be turning into pumpkin puree and put into the freezer.  I’m hoping to get this done today.  One of the great things for me about pumpkins is all the pumpkin seeds. Pumpkin seeds are one of the most nutritious and flavorful seeds around, and a fun, frugal snack. Roasted pumpkin seeds are not just great to snack on by themselves, but I also like to toss them into salads and even stir fries too.

Wash seeds and remove remaining pumpkin stuff from them. My grandmother always soaked the seeds over night in salted water. I don’t. lol Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Spread seeds on a cookie sheet sprayed lightly with oil, sprinkle with a little salt if desired, and place in the oven for about 30-45 minutes or until dried and lightly browned. Stir several times while they bake. Don’t over bake the seeds.

Another recipe is to coat the seeds in melted butter or oil before baking.

You can season the seeds with any kind of your favorite seasonings. I really just like the lightly salted ones…but hubby likes them spicy hot…so I’ll coat some in his favorite hot sauce before I bake them. Seeds will keep for a couple weeks or so in an air tight container…but ours never last that long.

Leave a Reply

