Rain, Rain, Rain

2015Aug18Pepper

Pepper, on guard this hazy morning.

After a dry spell, it rained all yesterday afternoon and overnight.  It’s all right though.  The sun is shining at the moment.

After the soggy, rainy beginning to summer, we had a few weeks of very dry, hot weather.   Now it is starting to cool off come, and rain again.  My garden needed a good soaking and the rain barrels needed filling.  This cooler weather is more September weather than mid-August.  But you won’t hear me complaining!

The onions are all out of the garden, and I’ve pulled any weeds that were there and laid a nice grass mulch down.  Hopefully this morning I can get out there and get the spinach planted before the rain comes.  Thankfully it is very slow moving so I should have plenty of time.  I figure I have an hour or so.  This is the first time I’ve put a mulch down first, and then planted.  Usually I wait until the seedlings are established and then put the mulch around them.  I did this with our broccoli, but with the hot, dry weather spell it was hard to keep it moist enough.  So we’ll see how this goes.  The seeds are Bloomsdale Long Standing from Baker Creek.

I know lots of people say it’s a bad idea to use grass clippings for mulch, but we don’t put chemicals on our lawn (except once in a great while for those very stubborn weeds, and that is just on that one weed, not the whole lawn.)  Also, we mow frequently so our grass never starts to seed.  And it is a free option for us instead of having to pay for straw, hay or wood chips.  Although once we are finished putting in all the raised bed I may put wood chips on the paths between the beds.

Totally unrelated…last night I tried making a peach cobbler.  FAIL.  Turned out horrible.  How could anyone mess that up?  I found a recipe, I followed the instructions and it just wasn’t good.  For one thing, it was greasy.  The butter just rose to the top and didn’t bake in.  I have no idea what I did wrong.  The only thing that I can think of is that I used the toaster oven instead of the stove oven so I wouldn’t be heating up the kitchen as much.  Things do take a little longer to bake in there, but I’ve never had problems.  Maybe next time I’ll just make biscuits and have the peaches on the side.  At least I know my biscuits come out fine.

That’s all for now.  I need to get busy before the rain comes.  Hope your day is wonderful and productive.  Grace and peace!

1 John 2:4-5 – He who says, “I know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him. But whoever keeps His word, truly the love of God is perfected in him. By this we know that we are in Him.

Leave a Reply

