Decluttering and Minimizing

It’ raining again today.  Seems a lot of people across the country are saying the same thing.  Crazy, soggy weather.  I’d love to share some with those in the drought.  Today will find me doing inside chores.

20150625_090235One of the things I’d like to accomplish today is decluttering.  I have a desire to get rid of half of what we own, but it’s hard to part with things.  I might need it.  A certain person gave it to me.  It belonged to a certain person.  I don’t even know where to start.

I’ve actually done pretty good the past couple years.  I have been able to get rid of quite a bit.  To me it’s quite a bit.  In the big picture it really isn’t much.  One thing that is very difficult for me is getting rid of things that I inherited.  For example, I have a box of plates that belonged to my grandmother that I will never use.  But they belonged to my grandmother.  Nobody else in the family wants them.  I really don’t want to send them to the thrift store, so I thought about selling them.  But I haven’t yet because they belonged to my grandmother.  See what I mean?

This weekend I’m planning to run a load of decluttering to the local mission thrift store.  I’d rather give to them because they are all about helping the needy with the priority being the Gospel.  Hold on, let me pull out my soap box.  I hear about people giving to and helping out animal shelters.  And it is good to do that.  But there are humans beings who are in great need.  The Bible tells us over and over to help the poor and needy.  We can reach out and help those we know are struggling, and give to organizations who do the same.  This isn’t just shelters, soup kitchens and missions, but consider nursing homes, hospitals, prisons etc.  Sometimes just visiting, sharing kind words and a smile is worth more than anything you could donate.  I’m done with the soap box.

I’m looking forward to having a minimized home.  At this rate it will be a life long project, but hey, I didn’t get cluttered overnight either.

That’s it for now.  Grace and peace.

Matthew 25:34-40 – Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’

“Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

Leave a Reply

