A Little More About Me…

mothersday

One of my favorite pictures of me and my son taken on Mother’s Day several years ago.

I know I have an About Me page, but was recently challenged to go a little deeper.

I was born in Detroit, raised in the Detroit area and moved to Indiana with my husband a little over 10 years ago. It was a big change going from a big city to a small Amish town of just over 1000 people. In my blog description I describe myself as a devoted wife of 20 years, mother and homeschool teacher to our 15 year old blessing, keeper of the home, maker of meals, tender of the gardens, prepper of the pantry, reader of cookbooks, pursuer of simplicity, stretcher of budgets, worker of hand crafts, chaser of dogs, watcher of birds, sipper of tea, drinker of too much coffee, student of the Scriptures, lover of Jesus, struggling Proverbs 31 and aspiring Titus 2 woman.  Really, that about sums it up.

I honestly never though I would be married let alone a stay at home wife and mom, but God had other plans. Looking back I can see how He cleverly crafted everything in my life to get me to this point. He is an AMAZING God! He took a lost little lamb trying desperately to fit in anywhere, and showed me that He had a plan for me all along that was a perfect fit.

I am head covering (mostly), and dress wearing (mostly). It’s a path that God set me on after our son was born when I heard a teaching about modesty. Nobody ever talked about that before and it really resonated. As I read and studied the Bible God began moving and convicting, and my wardrobe began changing.  It wasn’t easy because most of the Christians I knew didn’t understand.  I wasn’t trying to be plain, boring or frumpy.  I wasn’t even trying to be hip or trendy.  I was just trying to be feminine and modest.  There is just something about long, flowy dresses and skirts that really appeals to me. Always has.  I don’t think God intended us women to dress very plain (no offense to those who do), I don’t see anything he created as plain.  Simple, yes, but not plain.  My husband certainly does not like when I dress plain.  But I also don’t think God wants us to dress flashy to get attention.  As a married woman I certainly should not be dressing to be noticed by other men.  But I do want to be attractive and noticed by husband.

I have always been quiet and shy. Conversation and interaction with people especially one on one is almost torture to me. God has gifted me with a husband who is quite social, friendly, and very understanding, and he takes the lead in these situations and puts me at ease. I am so glad that our son takes after him.

I love to listen. I many not be the most active participant in a conversation, but I’m very attentive. I really enjoy hearing differing points of view and why people hold to what they believe. This often takes me into the Bible to where I can let the Holy Spirit clarify things. Sometimes it strengthens my beliefs, sometimes it changes it.

I find myself uncomfortable with the modern American church. The more I read and study the Bible, the more I seem to be uncomfortable with it. I feel like the church is trying too hard to be just like the world. This makes it hard to find a solid Bible believing, teaching and following Church. Instead of reading and studying the Bible, they read and study all sorts of books about the Bible.  I think the best book for Bible study is the Bible itself.  There are far too many Bible study and devotional books out there that have not stood the test of time.  It seems that anyone and everyone with some form of visibility to the Christian community is writing them. I’m not saying we shouldn’t use them, but the Church has lost discernment as a result of becoming Biblically illiterate. We follow popular people and books over the Bible and trust them because they call themselves “Christian”, and have stopped testing what they say/teach/write against what the Bible itself says.

I am passionate about all things home.  I was a born slob, but I’m slowly getting more organized and decluttered in my life and home. I long for simplicity.  I actually like ironing and washing dishes by hand.  I really do love being a stay-at-home wife and mom.  I often feel alone though, because our society has been brainwashed into devaluing the role of homemaker. It stuns me to see how negative people are to me when they find out I don’t work outside the house in a “real” job. Yes, I could be out in the workforce earning a decent paycheck and increasing our standard of living. But instead I am the Manager of my home, running this homestead, making the best from what we have, and increasing our quality of life.

I used to be a night owl. I’d stay up late doing craft projects or reading. Now I enjoy getting up with hubby in the mornings, getting his breakfast and coffee and helping him get off to work. I never see it as a chore, it’s time I treasure with just the two of us while our son sleeps. It would be so easy to climb back into bed after hubby leaves, but taking advantage of that quiet time in the morning is a gift. It isn’t long after that our son wakes up and we get the day started.

We are parents of an only child.  I always wanted a big family.  My aunt had 13 children.  After 5 years of marriage God blessed us with a son.  And he IS a blessing. While we would gladly accept more children if God chose to bless us that way, we are so thankful to be the parents of the child He did give us.

Random things people may not know: I play flute. I took 2 years of auto mechanics in high school. I’m terrified of flying – flew to Chicago and called hubby to come get me because I was too afraid to fly back.  I love archery. I hate tomatoes and peas…which are hubby’s favorite. I went to the same school as rapper Eminem (he was there right after I graduated) and my old stopping grounds included 8 Mile. I can’t whistle.  Potatoes are my favorite food group. *grin*  I call it pop. I once entered a demolition derby, but my car wouldn’t start the day of so I couldn’t actually participate.  My baked beans always turn out awful.  Two of my favorite singers are Johnny Cash and Boxcar Willie. I have asthma. My favorite flower is a daisy. I love peanut butter cups. My dream is to raise chickens and sheep. I’m a distant relative to Laura Ingalls Wilder’s husband Almanzo Wilder. The Little House series of books were my favorite growing up. My favorite hymn is The Love of God.  My current favorite Scripture is all of Psalm 91: “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; my God, in Him I will trust.”

That’s enough, huh?  Off to get back to work!  Grace and peace!

Leave a Reply

