Harvesting Herbs

2015June05oreganoOne of the things I love about gardening is having fresh herbs. They aren’t hard to grow, and many are perennials plant them once and let them grow!

When we moved into this house over 10 years ago, there was a big bunch of chives growing in the backyard already. Since then I’ve added oregano, savory, sage, lavender, thyme, peppermint, yarrow and lemon balm. Every year I plant parsley, and basil. Sometimes I plant chamomile and rosemary. Every year I have cilantro all over the garden that reseeds itself…it’s been several years since I planted it.

While most everything has done well, I have had my failures. My first year I successfully wiped out the oregano. Yeah, it is supposed to be hardy. Others that didn’t make it in past years are lavender, thyme, rosemary. I also learned that mint is horrible in a garden. It is terribly invasive. I moved it a while ago and I’m still pulling mint out of the herb garden. I also learned that you need to be careful when you let plants go to seed. Yep. While I don’t mind letting the cilantro reseed itself, mustard is taking over. I’ve decided that we don’t like it well enough to let it all go to seed.

2015June10oreganoLast week I harvested a big basket of oregano. I’m down to my last bit of dried oregano from last years garden. I bundled it and it is hanging to dry in my dining room. I also have some mint leaves drying on an old window screen. I personally like letting herbs dry this way as opposed to drying them in a dehydrator. It’s very frugal. As much as I like the dehydrator, it uses a lot of electricity. That I don’t like. Not very frugal. Not everything does well air drying, but most herbs do. Maybe at some point I’ll put together a make-shift solar dehydrator.

So, other than a bit of chives now and again, that is the first harvest of this season. Whee!

Luke 10:2 – And He said to them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few. Therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.”

Leave a Reply

