Recipe: Copy Cat Chili

chiliThis by far is my favorite chili recipe. It is a copy-cat recipe I found on the internet years ago for Wendy’s Chili. I end up making this quite a bit during the fall and winter, and once in a while during the summer.  Left overs get mixed with either rice or macaroni noodles. Sometimes if there isn’t enough left overs for a whole meal I’ll use what’s left to top nachos or baked potatoes.  Feel free to adjust the ingredients to what you have or what you like.

Copycat Wendy’s Chili

2 lbs. of ground beef (I substitute 1 lb. ground turkey)
1 qt. tomato juice
1 can crushed tomatoes
1 can kidney beans, drained (I like to use 2 cans)
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 cup celery, diced
1/4 cup green pepper, diced
1/4 cup chili powder
1 tsp. cumin
1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. each pepper, oregano and sugar (I usually omit the sugar)
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

In a frying pan, brown the ground beef and drain. Put the drained ground beef and remaining ingredients into a large pot. Cover and simmer for 1-1 1/2 hours, stirring every 15 minutes. (I mostly use my crock pot for this recipe and let it simmer on low all day. Yum!)

“Give me the love that leads the way, The faith that nothing can dismay, The hope no disappointments tire, The passion that will burn like fire, Let me not sink to be a clod: Make me Thy fuel, Flame of God.” Amy Carmichael

Leave a Reply

