Laundry Tips

It’s a beautiful day outside. The sun is shining, the sky is mostly clear, birds are chirping away, and there is a wonderful breeze blowing through the windows. A perfect day for hanging laundry outside. I’m starting to get behind again…nothing says love more than clean underwear, right?   I have jeans going right now.

I took this picture a while ago of a local Amish clothes line here locally…I need one of those! lol

laundry

Anyway, I was sitting here thinking about saving time and money with my laundry. Here are some thoughts of things I have done, or plan on doing:

* Reduce the amount of clothes that we have. I know that I don’t need as much as I have….even though I recently donated two large garbage bags, I know I can clean out even more.  I’m thinking minimal.

* Wear things more than once. Growing up if our clothes weren’t dirty (or weren’t too dirty) we wore them again…especially pants. That might not work well with babies, but certainly can with older children and us adults. Undershirts can help with hubby’s that wear dress shirts to work.

* Use bath towels more than once. This would work if I can only get our son to hang his up when he’s done.  lol

* I taught my son to do his own laundry from a young age. He may have needed lots of help at first, but at 15 he is a pro at it now and even hangs it out on the line.

* I read somewhere that washing and drying most things inside out helps them last longer.  I haven’t done that as I am almost compulsive about making sure things are right side out before they are washed.

* Take the time to pre-treat stains as close to the time they happen as possible….and take the time to use bibs, napkins and aprons. I have more experience with stains ruining my own clothes that I really want to admit.

* Wash as much as you can in cold water. The only thing I wash with hot water are whites.

* Soaking your whites in the washer overnight helps keep them whiter without using bleach. Just load normally, add your detergent and turn it off as soon as it begins to agitate…then turn it back on in the morning to finish. I hear adding lemon juice while it soaks helps too, but I haven’t tried that yet.

* A half cup of white vinegar is a great fabric softener…and much cheaper.

* Hang clothes out on the line instead of using the dryer. This is a lot easier when there isn’t a winter storm outside and the temps are below freezing.  Or it’s raining.  So if you have the room inside, you could also hang things inside too…which could also help with the indoor humidity in the winter months. Just fluff them in the dryer if they are too stiff.

* If you use dryer sheets, cut them in half. They work just as well and they’ll last twice as long.

That is all I can think of. Do you have any other frugal laundry ideas to share? I’d love to hear them. 🙂

Psalm 51:1-2
Have mercy upon me,
O God,According to Your lovingkindness;
According to the multitude of Your tender mercies,
Blot out my transgressions.
Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,
And cleanse me from my sin.

This is cute, I got it in an email quite a while ago:

A Recipe For Washing Clothes

Years ago, a grandmother gave the new bride the following recipe for washing clothes. It appears below just as it was written, and despite the spelling, has a bit of philosophy. This is an exact copy as written and found in an old scrap book (with spelling errors and all).

1. Bilt fire in backyard to heat kettle of rain water.

2. Set tubs so smoke wont blow in eyes if wind is pert.

3. Shave one hole cake of lie soap in bilin water.

4. Sort things, make 3 piles. 1 pile white, 1 pile colored, 1 pile work britches and rags.

5. To make starch, stir flour in cool water to smooth, then thin down with bilin water.

6. Take white things, rub dirty spots on board, scrub hard, and then bile. Rub colored don’t bile, just rinch and starch.

7. Take things out of kettle with broomstick handle, then rinch, and starch.

8. Hang old rags on fence.

9. Spread tea towels on grass.

10. Pore rinch water in flower bed.

11. Scrub porch with hot soapy water.

12. Turn tubs upside down.

13. Go put on clean dress, smooth hair with hair combs. Brew cup of tea, drink it and rock a spell and count your blessings.

I’m off to reboot my laundry, pour another cuppa coffee and count my blessings!

Leave a Reply

