My Biscuit Recipe

I make biscuits quite often.  Hubby loves them and they are really easy and really quick.  This recipe is good as rolled biscuits, drop biscuits, add a little sugar and they are good for shortcakes.  I’ve used them as biscuit topping for casseroles.  I haven’t perfected wheat biscuits yet, but when I do I’ll let you know.

This recipe comes from my grandmother’s cookbook.  I’ve tried a lot of recipes, but I keep coming back to this one.   One thing I want to point out is that I usually use almond milk instead of cows milk (since I can’t have dairy anymore).  I do use lard instead of shortening, but you can use what you like…even butter works.  You’ll want your lard/shortening/butter cold when mixing it into the flour.  And when mixing, be careful not to work the dough too much or you’ll get hockey pucks instead of biscuits.  You want it to just come together.

biscuits1

They are very nice rolled out, but you can just cut them with a pizza cutter too!
biscuits2

They rise up well and come out good and flaky.  You can brush on melted butter if you like.  I like (but I’m not supposed to have dairy…*sigh*).  You can even add some garlic to the butter if you like.  I like that too.
biscuits3

Here the recipe:

Baking Powder Biscuits

2 cups flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons shortening
1/4 cup milk

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together. Rub shortening in with finger tips. Add milk slowly and mix to a soft dough. Roll out on a slightly floured board to 1/2-inch thickness. Cut with a biscuit cutter. Bake in quick oven (450F) 10-15 minutes. Yield: 12 biscuits

Leave a Reply

