Recipe: Smoothies

We drink a lot of smoothies in our house. I usually just throw them together with whatever I have on hand. I never use sugar in my smoothies. Instead, I always use a banana. This sweetens it up nicely without adding sugar. Sometimes I’ll use honey if I’m out of bananas. I also never add ice to smoothies. Instead, I make sure my fruit is frozen before hand. Bananas are easy to freeze, simply peel them before you freeze them.  I love to catch sales or buy discounted bananas to have in the freezer.  I’ve use all sorts of berries, kiwi, cantaloupe, mangoes, pineapple, grapes, watermelon, apples, pears, plums etc. I’ve even tried carrots, cucumbers and spinach in them with no complaints!   Coconut oil and chia seeds are great too, and hardly noticeable.  I also use rice/almond/coconut milk since I can’t have cows milk and for my own smoothies I have to skip the yogurt as well.  I never actually measure, but here is my general smoothie recipe:

Fruit Smoothies

1 frozen banana
about 2 cups of your choice of frozen fruit
1/2-1 cup plain yogurt
1/2-1 cup milk or unsweetened fruit juice

If it’s too liquidy for your liking, add more frozen fruit. If it’s too thick, add more milk or juice. It’s not an exact science, make it to your taste. I don’t think I’ve ever made the same one twice!

Green/Veggie Smoothies

It took me a while to get used to the idea of vegetables in my smoothies.  Adding veggies is a great way not only to increase your veggie intake, but single out the healing properties of raw veggies (and fruits, herbs) such as celery, ginger, beets, cucumbers, parsley, for your specific needs.  There are many recipes out there, and I’m sure you’ll find several to fit your taste and needs.

One of the things I learn from a lovely friend who is a certified clinical nutritionist is that we should be drinking our food and chewing our drinks. Basically we don’t chew our food well enough for proper digestion. And even the things we drink (like smoothies) need the help of our saliva to digest properly. So don’t gulp down your smoothies, sip them and enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

