Breakfast For Dinner – Pancakes

feedmecookbookIt makes a cheap and easy meal, especially if you skip the meat. I like to add fruit on the side or as a topping.  Tonight we are having pancakes. The recipe I use is from one of my favorite cookbooks “Feed Me I’m Yours” by Vicki Lansky. Yeah, it’s a cookbook for babies and toddlers…I got it for a baby shower gift when I was pregnant with our son.  But there are lots of great recipes (like the pancake recipe) that I still use. So it stays on my bookshelf.

Buttermilk Beauties

1 cup flour (white, whole wheat, or a combination)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon shortening (melted) or oil
1 egg
1 cup buttermilk (or plain yogurt, plus sweet milk or water, to make 1 cup liquid)

Mix dry ingredients. Add milk and shortening to egg and mix. Combine the two mixtures until they are just moistened. Bake on a hot griddle, browning both sides.

My changes: First of all, I double this recipe.  I also use almond or coconut milk since I have to be dairy free. I think I may add a banana to the mixture also since I have one that is begging to be used!  Yum!

Leave a Reply

