Springing Into The Garden

Been a while since I posted an update. I’ll be getting back to writing more frequently now that I’m feeling better.

chives

Chives are blooming in the herb garden.

Usually I have the garden all prepped and mostly planted by now, but I haven’t been up to it this year. I wasn’t even sure I wanted to do a garden. I didn’t seeds and didn’t even crack open the seed catalogs.

As the weather warmed up I did get out to clean things up a bit, pulled the weeds from the herb garden, and that lead to prepping the lettuce bed and getting that ready for planting the beginning of May. I still wasn’t sure if I was going to work the big garden.

Hubby and I were discussing the garden and he was all right with letting it go this year.  As we were talking we decided to start converting it to raised beds.  I figured now would be a good time to start, nothing has been planted yet. So we are in the process of planning out some raised beds. Hubby and son will build the first one this weekend.

15-05-15garden1

Weeds, weeds, weeds!

In the mean time, I started working around in the other half of the garden. The weeds were up to my knees. Before I knew it I was hand spading the garden and planting onion sets.

We don’t own a tiller.  We found that it was more cost effective for us to rent a good tiller from the local rental center than it was to buy one.  But since we hadn’t done that yet, I thought I’d get the head start with hand spading.  If the soil has been worked before, it really isn’t that hard to do.  And I think I may have burned a few calories!  And I noticed there are lots of worms in our garden.

Using a shovel to hand spade the garden.

Using a shovel to hand spade the garden.

As I’ve been going along forcing myself to get things done, I find I’m feeling better and excited about the garden this year.  Must be the dirt and sunshine.  I won’t have a whole heirloom garden, but at least we’ll be growing our own food.

I’d love to hear from you about how your garden is going this year.

Grace and peace!
Ann’Re – Mama @ Home

2 thoughts on “Springing Into The Garden

  1. Good for you! I find that even when I don’t have energy–or think I don’t–the garden works as great therapy and aside from the renting of a tiller like you do, I find it to be a cheap therapy that actually has more than one reward: better feelings about myself and my world AND food for my family!

    Like

    • It certainly is…I just have to force myself to do it even when I don’t feel like it, I usually feel better afterward. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

