Reading Proverbs

“What’s worth doing is worth doing well.” Great-Grandma

Yeah, she may not have originated it, but she said it enough that I associate it with her.  My great-grandmother was full of wisdom, as was my grandmother. Even as a youngster it was something I admired in them and desired for myself. Now that I’m…um…older…and raising a spirited 14 year old, I still desire wisdom to pass onto my son. No better place to learn wisdom than from the book of Proverbs.

In my Bible reading I find that I can read through the entire book of Proverbs easily each month. Of course, actually making the time to sit and read isn’t as easy. But to read through Proverbs in a month you simply look at the date. Today is the 24th, so you would read Proverbs 24. You see, there are 31 chapters in the book of Proverbs, and most months have 31 days. Even if you forget to read, it’s easy to jump back into it by looking at the calendar. On months that don’t have 31 days I double up on the last day…don’t want to skip Proverbs 31!

And if you want to add the book of Psalms to your reading each month, simply read about five each day and you’ll get through the entire book of Psalms in one month (with a day to spare in months with 31 days).  I usually read Psalm 119 by itself since it is long.

It works out for me, what have you found to make your Bible reading easier?

Proverbs 3:13-15
13 Blessed is the man who finds wisdom,
the man who gains understanding,
14 for she is more profitable than silver
and yields better returns than gold.
15 She is more precious than rubies;
nothing you desire can compare with her.

Leave a Reply

