I Don’t Fit In

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong
Where I Belong – Building 429

This is my favorite song right now.  It is very fitting.  I can completely identify with it.

The truth is, I don’t fit in anywhere.  Not only do I not fit in this world, I don’t fit in most of the churches either.  I am far too “conservative” for main stream Christian groups, too “liberal” for conservative Christian groups.  I don’t mind being different, God calls us all to be different/set apart, but apparently it seems other Christians do mind.   So I tend to keep quiet on things like this.  I do not want to be divisive among the Church.

If it goes against the Bible, we should speak out (respectfully out of love).  Too many “well meaning” Christians go overboard on non-salvation issues (such as Bible versions, hymns vs. praise, etc.) and instead of being encouraging and loving they are critical and overbearing.  It is understandable that they are passionate about their position, but the harshness in the way some go about it is divisive and tends to push people away instead of encouraging them closer to the Lord.  Loving debates can be edifying, heated debates can be damaging.  I believe it is especially a poor witness to unbelievers when Christians treat other Christians poorly.

Whether I use the KJV or not, wear dresses only or not, am Calvinist/Arminianist or not, am pre-trib or not, wear head coverings or not, watch TV or not, get political or not, whether I belong to one denomination or another, it should not be used to drive the Church apart.  Discussions of our differences should edify each other to go deeper into the Word and draw closer to the Lord.  We should be using the time we have left to be a good reflection of Christ, not a poor reflection of the world.  Our time here is limited.  This world is not our home.

Satan always hates Christian fellowship; it is his policy to keep Christians apart. Anything which can divide saints from one another he delights in. He attaches far more importance to godly intercourse than we do. Since union is strength, he does his best to promote separation. – C.H. Spurgeon

What the Lord laments and opposes, Satan applauds and fosters. Few things demoralize, discourage, and weaken a church as much as bickering, backbiting and fighting among its members… Because of quarreling the Father is dishonored, the Son is disgraced, His people are demoralized and discredited, and the world is turned off and confirmed in unbelief. Fractured fellowship robs Christians of joy and effectiveness, robs God of glory, and robs the world of the true testimony of the gospel. A high price for an ego trip! – John MacArthur

There is nothing wrong with Christian disagreeing with one another or trying to persuade another of the rightness of a particular position. What is wrong, however, is loveless conflict that ends in hate and bitterness. – Alexander Strauch

Leave a Reply

