Crochet Project – Afghan

I love to do all sorts of hand crafts.  I especially love crochet.

One of the main problems I have is that I spend so much time making things for other people, I don’t always make things for myself.  I made the hat below for a relative that was just diagnosed with cancer and going through chemo.

20140627_100656

One day while I was making the bed, I starting thinking about all the afghans I had made as gifts. And I realized that I haven’t made any afghans for our home. Not for hubby, not for our son, not for me. None. Nada. The big zero. So I sat down and started playing with yarn to try and come up with something. I got nothing. Nada. The big zero. It wasn’t until I had come across a picture of a granny square sampler afghan that had started building my idea. At first I considered making a variety of granny squares, but as I was making them, I didn’t like how they came out. I frogged most of them except for one…the solid granny square.

I liked it. I made up a few more and set them together to see what they would look like. I liked it. But if I wasn’t going to make different squares, I wanted a little something to create a visual contrast. I added an off white border. I liked it.

I made more.  I liked it.

I measured it out, to make an afghan for my bed I need a total of 108 granny squares. I don’t know how I am going to put it all together yet, whether to sew the squares or crochet them.

But I will keep you updated on my progress.  I am also working on another hat for a good friend.  I love to do all sorts of hand crafts.  I especially love crochet.

Proverbs 31:13 – She seeks wool and flax, and willingly works with her hands.

Leave a Reply

