Blood Moon, Bread and Bible Reading

IMG_20141008_064145610

One of the pictures my son tried to take of the eclipse.

Scattered ramblings this morning…

One of the rare mornings that our son got up with us as Hubby got ready for work. He wanted to see the eclipse. He was hoping to get a picture. So he bundled himself up (it was in the low 40’sF this morning…brrrrr!) and out into the yard he went. Unfortunately from where we live, there are lots of trees that block out much of the horizon where the moon was, so viewing spots were scarce. But he did find a decent spot for watching and braved the cold to try and get a picture in full eclipse. The picture didn’t come out, but he was happy to get a chance to watch it.

I made two loaves of bread yesterday and one of the loaves is almost gone already. My guys had warm bread for dessert last night. I can see that I’ll be making a couple more loaves before this week is over. That is fine with me, since we’ll be having dinner with friends this weekend, I can bring a fresh loaf for them.

bible

One of my morning quiet times.

This is one of the mornings where I really appreciate technology.  With my son getting up early this morning, my quiet time isn’t so quiet.  I have a challenging enough time concentrating on what I’m reading as it is, but adding extra distractions makes it even harder.  On the website Blue Letter Bible they have a place where you can listen to the Bible while you read in KJV, NKJV or NLT.  I’m sure there are other websites that do this as well.  This helps me stay more focused and I retain more of what I read.  If you’d like to check it out, go to the Blue Letter Bible website and search for the section of the Bible you would like to read, for example one of the things I read this morning was Proverbs 8 (since today is the 8th).  Once you bring it up, you see a link in the menu bar “Listen To The Bible”.  When you click on it, it will give you a menu to choose what Bible version you want to listen to.  When you click on the version you want, it will open a new window and start playing the audio.  The nice thing for me is that it will continue going on to the next chapter until you stop it.  I can read along in my own Bible and stop it when I’m done.

Off to get ready for homeschooling.

Psalm 119:15 – I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways.

Leave a Reply

